It’s Hip To Be Square

I bought this little shift dress probably 2 years ago from TJ Maxx or Nordstrom Rack or one of those for what I remember to be a killer price.  I intended to wear it as a hot weather school dress – I like how the extended shoulder looks like they could pass for “sleeves” – but black, thick, lined fabric is not exactly conducive with zero air conditioning.

With the slightly warmer temperatures (like, in the 40s) we saw, I was on the hunt for a skirt in my closet. I rediscovered this dress towards the back of my closet and decided to give it a new life as a layering piece. I originally tried it on with my J. Crew Snowcat blouse (AGAIN. I know.), but the sleeves were a little too voluminous. This pink top has much slimmer sleeves for a sleeker look. I added sheer stockings and my favorite wedges, and figured the beading was all the jewelry I needed (plus some small geometric earrings you can’t even see).

IMG_9933 IMG_9936 IMG_9920

  • Blouse Limited (similar)
  • Dress old Kenneth Cole (similar without beading)
  • Tights  L’eggs (buy)
  • Shoes Cole Haan (buy half size up)
Love, hate, or meh? Let me know!

